Skinning/Touring tips and techniques

Just read that. Thanks for putting me on to it. I'm looking for instruction on applying skins. Is it really as simple as putting them on straight and trimming?
I'm brand new to the sport. I've hiked for years but never split boarded. I have purchased all the gear... Ouch$$ and am super stoked to try it all out. How far is standpoint from Canada ? I've driven to Schweitzer from fernie . Is it close to there?

Hi Fjordy! It really is, just that simple. You can trim them flush or if you have the cool little trimming tool, it will cut the skins back to about the edge of the metal base (2-4mm?) It is dead simple with the tool. Just lay them on straight and you will be good. No need to try to stretch them on.

Did you get tail clips for you skins? If not, start saving your pennies. I consider them crucial (Sparks R&D make the tail clips I use.) I think they are less than $40.

Your set-up may vary, but a good use of 8 minutes to watch this vid.

Best,

Bobby

Dude thanks for the video link. Yes I got tail clips. My deal is that I bought a crazy monster board that is unusually shaped. A voile 190 Vail. Thing is gorgeous . But
There's no skin specifically made for that board and because of the v tail. Traditional tail clip kits may not work. I spoke to voile and they recommend there's that only uses adhesive. No tail clip involved. I'm leery of that
So I purchased a skin for skiis. G3 alp insist high traction skins- 140mm wide x 189-190 ... Might be too long. Hopefully they are good. Whaddya think?

I am a tinkerer, so I would definitely do something.. Just not sure what yet. 3 dumb thoughts popped into my head....
1) Think rubber bands (the kind that come on broccoli at the supermarket) and carry the tail of the skin over the board and stick to the top sheet and drop on a rubber band... told you these were dumb!